Reviewers


K&L Email Alerts

Sign up to receive custom alerts, new arrivals and the latest happenings from K&L Wines

Staff Favorites - Andrew Stevens

Andrew Stevens

Reviews

Page: 1 2 3 next
2016 Moulin de la Gardette "Petite Gardette" Gigondas
Review Date: 01-18-2018
A spectacular every day offering from my favorite Gigondas producer the Petite Gardette showcases the beauty of this area and the producer. Although there is a little funk on the nose when first opening this bottle a half and hour decant time will give you a beautiful wine. Very pretty ripe berry mixed with a nice amount of earth lead to a lovely clean finish. Everything here is in harmony and the balance of the fruit, acid, and tannin mean this is a perfect food wine.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2016 Oakridge "Over the Shoulder" Chardonnay Yarra Valley Victoria
Review Date: 01-18-2018
I love the Oakridge label, and to be honest their entry level Over the Shoulder is usually my favorite thing that they do. The OTS line represents an absolutely stunning value for the beauty and complexity that are present in the wines. In the Chardonnay there is generous ripe orchard fruit that is driven by clean acid and a bright freshness that keeps the wine from being heavy. A spectacular wine in its own regards this style also happens to be extremely versatile, pairing well with a number of foods and style preferences.
Price: $14.99 Add To Cart
JH 93

Daniel Bouju Tres Vieux "Brut de Fut" Premier Cru de Cognac Grand Champagne Cognac 750ml
Review Date: 01-18-2018
This is no light, easy, fruity cognac that I had come to associate with Bouju, this is dark, rich and intense. The nose immediately shows the long slow aging of this spirit, with dried fruit, baked cinnamon, cardamom, and old leather. The power and concentration here are unforgettable, flavors of old oak and concentrated fruit that linger long on the tongue.
Price: $179.99 Add To Cart

Piùcinque Gin 750ml
Review Date: 01-18-2018
There may a problem with this gin in that it goes down a little too easily, dare I say that this is a super crushable gin. A beautiful nose that is resplendent with botanical notes still manages to come off as soft and clean. There is a lovely nutty and floral balance happening here with some sweet citrus and a line of clean acid driving the body. What really struck me about this gin was how the softly sweet floral, almond, bergamot, and juniper all managed to work so well together by giving lots of flavor that is clean and far to easy to drink.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2008 Aultmore 9 Year Old K&L Exclusive "Sovereign" Single Sherry Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 01-10-2018
Let the people drink whisky!! This seems to be the theme of stuff I have been getting to taste recently, super tasty whisky for the sake of whisky that is actually affordable. Case in point, this delightful bottle of Aultmore from our friend Hunter Laing. On these chilly grey evenings this is going to be a spectacular bottle to become friends with. The aromatics practically leap out of the glass, big rich nutty and almost amaretto notes from the heavy sherry casking here are layered with some dark fruit. The age of this bottling really comes through in fantastic richness and power, itis bombastic but balanced. The casking allows the youth to shine without making you feel like it is too young. Rich barley sweetness, vanilla, clove and cinnamon all enhance each other and at cask strength there is a bite and spice that never overwhelms. Simply put, this is a drinking Scotch, perfect for here and now.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2016 La Chablisienne Bourgogne Chardonnay
Review Date: 12-26-2017
La Chablisienne has become on my go to labels when looking for spectacular white Burgundy in all price points that consistently over delivers. The 2016 bottling of inexpensive Bourgogne Chardonnay is a great example of the quality one finds in even the entry level wines from Chablisienne. Having no oak influence gives this wine lovely brightness and acidity but it would be a mistake to think that it has no weight or texture. There is still plenty of beautiful rich fruit at play giving notes of golden apple to supplement the minerality and freshness of this bottling. While I feel this is a splendid food wine there is no reason this cannot simply be enjoyed on its own.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Averaen (Banshee) Willamette Valley Pinot Noir
Review Date: 12-24-2017
The second vintage now from the producers of Banshee, for those who love the Pinot being grown in the Willamette valley. The Averaen showcases ripe fruit with hints of candy and cherry cola; these rich notes are balanced by acid and tannin. The richness that Banshee is known for is integrated into the structure that Pinot from this area is famous for. This is an instantly friendly and easy to love wine from people of whom we have long been fans. Overall this is a balanced and lovely Pinot Noir just in time for the holidays.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2014 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-19-2017
This is another fantastic bottling from Amici, which has had a string of great Napa Cabs for the previous couple of vintages. Amici represents what people want and love about Napa Cab these days for a far better price than almost anyone else for the quality. Big, rich, lush berry flavors are met by herbal and floral notes to keep the wine from being flabby. There is plenty of structure here, giving this wine the ability to stand up to any good holiday dinner. The tannin is already integrated, balances the wine, and works in harmony with the red fruit. This is a wine where every part of it works together and easily over-delivers.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 92 WE 91

2016 Foxglove Paso Robles Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 12-19-2017
The second label of Varner is, in my mind, one the best values in California wine. The Foxglove Cab is simply a super friendly, easy to drink, everyday Cabernet. Dark and red berry notes are balanced by a light, fresh acidity due to the stainless steel fermentation. Lovely fruit and spice open immediately and lead to a lovely finish.
Price: $12.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Faiveley Mercurey "Clos Rond"
Review Date: 12-07-2017
I really enjoyed this bottling in the 2014 vintage and while I had good expectations about the wine, I was really pleasantly surprised when I tasted the new vintage. Beautiful fruit of red cherry and raspberry are indicative of the ripeness of the 2015 vintage. Although the fruit is showing nicely there is still plenty of acid and some lovely spice notes to balance everything out. Toward the finish there is a very fun somewhat hard minerality that helps to anchor the wine. All in all the balance was spectacular and everything in this wine worked together.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart

Wine Club

$26.99

Golden Devil "K&L Exclusive" Dark Overproof Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
Just in time for Holiday party's (and to be honest for a Sunday Funday) this beautiful little bottle of Dark Overproof is exactly what is needed for cocktails, punches, and parties. Seriously, this is excellent, especially given the price, for those who need a good dark and strong rum for winter cocktails. Dark chocolate on the nose with a little coffee on the nose leads to a lighter palate than I was expecting. Caramel and fudge pudding with a rising heat and spice from the proof all come together here. Fantastic!
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

Enmore 25 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guyana Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
This 25 year old Golden Devil from Enmore made me come back a couple times to the sample bottle and I had to leave it reluctantly. Dark spice over fruitcake with a subtle wood notes on the nose hint to the richness and complexity. On the palate the rum had a wonderful dried fruit and pudding quality that morphs into savory chocolate and coffee notes. Earthy mocha and baking spice with dark berry notes make up the finish that seems to last forever.
Price: $199.99 Add To Cart

Bellevue 19 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Guadeloupe Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
I have exclusively drunk young agricole rum up until now and so getting to taste this 19 year old single cask from Bellevue was exciting. With the age and distillation process the powerful vegetal components of an agricole are softened by dark figgy pudding notes and Christmas spice. The rum is a fascinating blend of warm spice and vanilla pudding all framing a long floral core typical of an agricole followed by a long finish. Any true fan of rum will happily work their way through this bottle, although it may disappear faster than planned.
Price: $99.99 Add To Cart

2007 Hampden 9 Year Old "Golden Devil" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Jamaican Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 12-07-2017
The single barrel selections we have been getting from Golden Devil, and for me in particular the Jamaican ones, have gotten me to rethink buying rum. The 9 year old Hampden opens immediately with a wonderful fruity butterscotch nose, powerful and inviting. There is a lot of wood tanning here that will immediately cling to the palate, however within that lovely fruit and floral notes complement the warm vanilla components. The butterscotch on the nose comes back at the finish with pineapple and baking spice.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

Four Roses 8 Year 9 Month Old "K&L Exclusive OESQ" Single Barrel Cask Strength Bourbon (750ml)
Review Date: 12-02-2017
Our Four Roses Single Barrel Cask Strength are always among our most popular offerings we have for bourbon and as my co-worker Jeff points out the various mash bills they use can mean for very different bottling. This offering brings lovely aromas of spice and fruit with a nutty richness. There is a lot of wild spice notes here with a fun balance between the sweet fruit/caramel notes and the savory spice notes. Although this is softer than some of the single barrels we have carried a little water definitely helps open this up and bring out the beauty within.
Price: $64.99 Add To Cart

2017 Domaine Dupeuble Beaujolais Nouveau
Review Date: 11-16-2017
Definitely the most serious and thoughtful of the beaujolais nouveau this year the Dupeuble brings a more tart raspberry note and drier finish to the collection. Although this is still a classic beaujolais nouveau meaning the snappy red fruit of the nose and juicy mid palate is still here, a slightly burgundian presence is also present.
Price: $16.99 Add To Cart

2014 Can Mayol Loxarel "999" Brut Nature Rosat Penedes
Review Date: 11-16-2017
This is one of the tastiest, coolest, and most interesting rose bubbly we carry but unfortunately the label does not scream that. Still if you are willing to look past the label you can get into a wine by my favorite cava producers in our store. This is worlds away from a soft strawberry, watermelon and sweet finish. This wine is all tart earthy raspberry with plenty of acid and minerality. Dry finish with that seems to linger forever this is a ridiculously good bottle of bubbly in just a ridiculous package.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2015 Jax "Y3 Taureau" Napa Valley Red Blend
Review Date: 11-11-2017
Holy cow!(See what I did there) just in time for Holiday season the Jax Y3 blend is back and it is even better than I was expecting. I really enjoyed the 2014 and 2013 bottlings from our friends at Jax but this is the best one I have tasted. Beautiful cherry and spice on the nose lead to a silky, seamless palate. The wine has a lushness that never falls into jam and coats the mouth with very soft fully integrated tannins. What is so spectacular about this bottling though is the balance and freshness it delivers even as the warm red fruits are at the front of this wine. This wine is not overly rich and definitely not flabby, there is a sophistication and balance not often found in red blends at this price point here in California. A perfect bottle to have around for this time of year.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart
RP 90

2014 Domaine Trapet Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 11-10-2017
There is something magical about the 2014 vintage in white burgundy, I think that I have said something along these lines in every bottle of 2014 white Burgundy I have reviewed. The reason is though because it keeps being true. As good as 2015 is, especially in reds, the cooler 2014 vintage with higher acid just leads to a more complex and tasty white Burgundy for me. That being said I love when the high acid meets generous fruit like in the Trapet Bourgogne Blanc. Crisp citrus nose leads to warm generous orchard fruit on the palate. There is a little waxy characteristic along with a touch of minerality and some honey and spice that are all brightened and balanced by the acid.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

George Dickel "K&L Exclusive" 9 Year Old Single Barrel #L7234K1004 Tennessee Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 11-03-2017
While I do love a big rich bourbon I have to say my taste tends to run to ones with more rye in them giving me more herbaceous and spice notes. This is why I have always gravitated to the Four Roses Single Barrels over some of the wheated bourbons so I was excited to taste this Dickel for about 2/3 the price of my single barrel Four Roses. Elegant vanilla and spice are mixed with rich wood and an earthy toasted quality. A dry and surprisingly mild heat finish make this a wonderful addition to any bourbon lover's collection.
Price: $44.99 Add To Cart

2015 Penfolds "Bin 389" Cabernet-Shiraz South Australia
Review Date: 11-03-2017
Penfolds is a name familiar to many and enjoys a well deserved reputation. The 2015 Bin 389 should add another feather to an already full cap featuring Cab from the Connemara and Shiraz from Barossa in a full bodied ripe red blend that can be enjoyed now until one no longer drinks wine. Menthol and eucalyptus from the cab meet some earthy gamy notes from the shiraz. What is remarkable here is the balance of rich fruit, acid, and structure that manage to all harmonize. A perfect compliment to any lamb and mint dish or any upcoming holiday dinner for the next couple of decades.

2013 Amici Napa Valley Cabernet Sauvignon
Review Date: 11-01-2017
This is among the last Napa Cab blends we have from the great 2013 vintage and perhaps the best deal for a sub-$50 Napa we have in stock. This is exactly the type of wine that makes people want to drink Napa Cab. Rich and full bodied the wine opens with plum, cassis, and red berry notes. Interplaying with the ripe fruit are notes of sandalwood, coffee and chocolate, adding savory depth to the wine. Well balanced with a firm structure and integrated tannins, this is a beautiful bottle for cool evenings and serious nights.
Price: $43.99 Add To Cart
JS 93 WE 92

Fukano K&L Exclusive Single Cask #2827 Japanese Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 10-29-2017
Calling this single cask from Fukano a whisky almost places too much of a limitation on the spirit because it seems to beg to be in a category of its own. The nose gives off almost floral jasmine rice notes with vanilla bean, coconut and oak. The palate almost is a cross between an American whiskey and a brandy. The oak gives off bold vanilla and butterscotch while the texture and mid-palate has distinct brandy note with hints of mocha and dried fruit as in an Armagnac. There is a surprising amount of spice with some heat as the finish stays long and lingering on the tongue. This is a wonderful bottle and will make a lovely addition to any whisky drinker's bar.
Price: $69.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine de la Chaboissière Muscadet Sèvre et Maine Sur Lie
Review Date: 10-12-2017
I recently re-tasted this delightfully inexpensive little Muscadet and was reminded of how good this wine tastes. Even with the long aging on the lees this wine has everything people are looking for in a Muscadet. Bright, clean, a little floral and saline characteristics all come together with plenty of acid and lift. There is a surprising amount of fruit weight here but with an incredibly clean finish. This is definitely a bottling that one could keep around for tons of occasions.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Four Pillars "Faultline" K&L Exclusive Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 10-05-2017
I have been hearing about this gin since its inception and have been eagerly awaiting its arrival. Finally our new Faultline gin is here and it is downright delightfully delicious!! The aromatics leap out immediately, but like all of the Four Pillars Gin everything is in balance, lots of different aromas all acting in harmony with each other. There is some fantastic spice notes in here to bolster the juniper and the texture from the nuts adds a wonderful creamy layer. Finally the gin ends with a burst of lemon and spice that keeps the mouth fresh. I was planning on drinking wine tonight but I think I may do Negroni's instead.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2016 Domaine de Verquière Côtes-du-Rhône
Review Date: 10-03-2017
I became an instant fan of this producer and especially the entry-level Rhone offering when I first tasted them, and they just seem to be getting better. The 2016 Cotes du Rhone showcases a greater elegance and brightness as opposed to the richer 2015 vintage. With the high level of Grenache, this wine is exactly the kind of Rhone that I love. Beautiful high tones of red fruit, notes of cherry, spice and cigar box with subtle tannin from the Syrah make this a wine easy to love with tons of different dishes.
Price: $9.99 Add To Cart

Baron-Fuenté "Esprit" Brut Champagne
Review Date: 09-29-2017
I recently took a bottle of this home, not having tasted it in a couple of years, and I was struck by just how good this offering from our only Direct Import negociant truly is. The long aging on the lees give this wine a natural toastiness while maintaining plenty of bright acid. Notes of baked apple, creme brulee, and lemon zest make this a wine that pairs with food especially well in the fall. An absolutely lovely bottle from our friends at Baron-Fuente.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
WS 92 WE 91

2015 Domaine Francois Parent Hautes-Côtes de Nuits
Review Date: 09-27-2017
With the richer and riper flavors on Burgundy from the 2015 vintage this bottle is a wonderful reminder that there is still plenty of brightness and acidity to be had in the wine. The Francois Parent Haut Cotes De Nuits immediately greets you with fresh red berry and cherry notes. The flavor here is softly easy to enjoy, with enough complexity to make it interesting and not overwhelming. A very seriously easy to enjoy offering for those just coming to Burgundy.
Price: $26.99 Add To Cart

Real McCoy 12 Year Old Single Blended Barbados Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2017
For anyone looking to get into rum or for those who need something to drink so as to not drink their single barrel limited release rums the Real McCoy is here. This is just rum for rum's sake, done by one of the best distillers I have tasted out of Barbados. Foursquare is known for their dedication to transparency and lack of additives and this bottling delivers the real deal. Wonderfully balanced with a nose of tar, molasses, and burnt sugar. The body is exactly what I expected it to be with a smooth richness, some funk from the pot still and overall deliciousness. Captain Jack would cry to see this used as a fire starter.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

Deanston 10 Year Old PX Sherry Finish Highland Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-27-2017
Deanston has seriously upped its game with the high proof Px finish bottling of its 10 year old whisky. Vanilla and oak spice in the nose are enhanced with notes of dried raisin, plum, a little toffee, and white mocha from the Sherry cask. The palate is classic Deanston vanilla with a much more explosive spice component. This is a bottle that definitely needs a little water or ice to calm it down, but once you do will reward you with raisin, mocha, vanilla, and tons of beautiful baking spice on the finish.
Price: $59.99 Add To Cart

2015 Chateau de L'Ou "Velours Noir" Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 09-14-2017
It is never to early to start thinking of cool wines to drink as nights get longer and more and more dinners get planned. This 100% Syrah on Black Schist soil should definitely be one to keep in your back pocket. Blackberry and spice on the nose give way to a rather rich and bold wine. Dark berry and jam notes are intertwined with spice and minerality while classic syrah tannin coats the mouth and leads to a long finish. This is not a shy wine in all the best ways.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JD 94 RP 94

2015 Château de L'Ou Côtes Catalanes Rouge
Review Date: 09-14-2017
Superb little red food wine that is a great one to keep around the house for whenever. Tart red berry and fruit are layered here with bright acid and some great minerality. The acid really drives the wine, but there is some chewy tannin on the finish to help give the wine more structure.A very good choice to keep around for a delightfully inexpensive table wine.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart
RP 88 - 90

2016 Chateau de L'Ou Côtes Catalanes Rosé
Review Date: 09-14-2017
It seems an odd time to bring in a new rose especially given that summer is almost gone, but here in the Bay Area we will most likely see many more days of sunshine and so this is a wine to stock up on. Bright, clean, wonderful notes of watermelon and strawberry with plenty of acid and a touch of minerality. This is a truly tasty rose, and who needs long days to drink it, this is one to enjoy anytime as summer gives way to autumn.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

2016 Château de L'Ou Côtes Catalanes Blanc
Review Date: 09-14-2017
This is a delightful bottle of white that goes well with practically any occasion. Fresh aromatics give way to notes of orchard fruit and mineral tones. Bright crisp acid drives the wine but there is still some texture from the grapes and it all culminates in a clean tart finish. Light and lovely this is a beautiful wine for the end of summer.
Price: $11.99 Add To Cart

Highland Park "Magnus" Isle of Orkney Single Malt Scotch Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-07-2017
This is a killer bottle of whiskey especially for the price, it is not often you find a Scotch under $30 period much less one with such complexity in it. I should not doubt the people at Highland Park, but I was still a bit surprised by this one. Sweet peat, oak spice, and a little fruity nose invite you into a rich warm palate of toffee, vanilla, salted caramel and a smooth gentle smoke. The finish is probably my favorite part here, toffee and bitter coffee notes with a little spice linger far longer than I would have thought.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

1996 Tamdhu 20 Year Old K&L Exclusive Old Particular Single Barrel Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 09-07-2017
My second experience with a single cask of Tamdhu and I like this one even more than the first one I ever tried. This is classic rich, delicious Speyside whisky that is easy to love. Rich cereal and honey wheat notes are intermingled with caramel apple, vanilla and sweet barley notes. At cask strength there is definitely a rising heat on the finish that goes along with the spice notes but with a little water this bottle opens even more and helps the finish just linger on the tongue.
Price: $79.99 Add To Waiting List

2012 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 08-30-2017
I was first introduced to this wine in the previous vintage and was excited to get to taste it again in the 2012 vintage. It did not disappoint at all, in fact for something to drink sooner rather than later I prefer the 2012. There is still the spectacular richness and depth that I tasted in 2011, but this vintage offers up more richness, fruit, and roundness. Dark cherry and currant in the nose lead to a big supple wine with some savory herb and dusty notes. In short this is a wine that is delicious right now and deserves to be picked up and enjoyed.

Four Pillars "Bloody Shiraz" Gin (750ml)
Review Date: 08-30-2017
I was willing to buy this bottle based on the aromatics alone, well that and the fact that Four Pillars seems incapable of making a bad gin. Watching this come in and getting to finally taste it makes me do a happy dance. The aroma juniper, sweet orange, bitter herb, red berry are all present here and hint at the tastiness hiding within this bottle. The flavor here is reminiscent of a SloGin but brighter and drier than most I have tasted. The beauty of the Four Pillars botanicals are still here just surrounded and submerged in sweet red fruit, more spice and a perfect amount of sweetness. I can't wait to try it in a Negroni and I feel I won't even need the sweet vermouth.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2015 Wanaka Road (Mount Edward) Pinot Noir Central Otago
Review Date: 08-29-2017
I keep being astounded with the wines from Mount Edward, they are among the best producers we carry out of New Zealand. Their second label is an astonishing value and is almost silly for the price. Soft dark fruit harmonizes with bright raspberry notes before moving into long notes of savory herb and spice. There is layers of acid and a little tannin structure that add to the complexity of this wine while remaining surprisingly soft on the palate.
Price: $19.99 Add To Waiting List
JS 91 RC 91

2007 Bunnahabhain 10 Year Old "Old Particular" K&L Exclusive Single Barrel Cask Strength Single Malt Whisky (750ml)
Review Date: 08-17-2017
I have been waiting to taste this bottle since I saw that eventually we would be getting it and I thought I would have to wait until the fall. Then today Driscoll swept in like a messenger of the gods and delivered my sample and it is as fun an exciting as I was hoping. From a refill cask this bottling does not have the rich sherry or bourbon notes I am used to from this distillery and allows the whisky inside to speak for itself. Beautiful vanilla and warm fruit in the nose with notes of cereal lead to a fresh palate. Although this bottling is significantly lighter than the distillery bottlings there is still a lot of complexity and richness here with a subtle core of smoke. The cask strength does not overwhelm and the finish of rising spice notes are lovely.
Price: $49.99 Add To Cart

2011 Felsina "Fontalloro" Toscana
Review Date: 08-16-2017
Beautiful Sangiovese that remarkably can either be enjoyed now or placed in a cellar for a few years. In 2011 the ripeness of the vintage lead to beautiful easy to enjoy friendly wines that are not necessarily the ones to lay down, but the restraint and elegance shown by the Fontalloro allows this bottling to do a bit of both. Lovely red fruit with savory herb, licorice, and chocolate are matched by long tannins with plenty of acid to help give the wine structure and length. While there is a density to the wine it stills pulls off being fresh and energetic, truly a great find.

Lost Spirits Distillery 61% California Navy Style Rum (750ml)
Review Date: 08-03-2017
In spite of this being long overdue I wanted to take a moment to talk about how impressed I was by this Rum. I was not around when Bryan originally started making his Lost Spirits here in the Bay Area but I have come to appreciate them now coming out of LA. This is lovely example of a dark high proof rum, notes of molasses and savory chocolate are imbued with baking and Christmas spice. Although this is a rich smooth rum, there is still plenty of complexity and depth of flavor. On the rocks this rum rocks, but to be honest my favorite is to make it into a rum Old Fashion.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart

2009 La Rioja Alta "Viña Arana" Reserva Rioja
Review Date: 07-20-2017
I am definitely a fan of this winery and was excited to get to taste a new one (for me) from La Rioja Alta and I was not disappointed in the slightest. This is one of those bottles that helps to showcase why I like Rioja as a region so much. Bright red fruit notes with plenty of earthy notes. Alternating sweet and savory notes with a lovely mouth feel, I was fortunate to taste this a day after it had been opened and it was screaming good.
Price: $24.99 Add To Cart
JS 96

2015 Te Mata "Coleraine" Bordeaux Blend Hawke's Bay
Review Date: 07-19-2017
Te Mata is one of those producers that just consistently blows me away, really across the board with their wines. I love the Awatea, I drank more bottles of their Gamay/Pinot than I will admit too, and their Sav Blanc is spectacular. That being said the Coleraine is in another league. I am hard pressed to think of another wine that can give you the richness and body of California with the elegance, structure, and length of France. Moreover it is just straight up silly good, you can drink this wine now, keep it around for many years, surprise people with an insanely good bottle or just hoard it all for yourself.

Paranubes Oaxacan Agricole Rum (1L)
Review Date: 07-18-2017
Wow, I mean seriously wow. This is one of those spirits that just makes me sit up and take notice. The nose immediately hits you with a fairly big grassy and slightly woody note. However, as powerful as the aromatics here are the body is light and balanced. Beautiful oxidized fruit, a touch of earthiness, much less aggressive than many agricole. Although David has just been sipping it this is the kind of spirit I cannot wait to start making cocktails with. I love when I get to play with something new and this is going to be a very good summer with this spirit I feel.
Price: $39.99 Add To Cart

2014 No Curfew California Pinot Noir
Review Date: 07-05-2017
What a delightful surprise to taste a ripe, but balanced Pinot coming out of California that is a spectacular price. Although the wine is bursting with rich California fruit containing notes of ripe cherry and cola there is a lovely acid that keeps this wine in balance. The acid helps to bring this wine to a finish where softly coating tannins bring the whole thing to a close. Plenty of fruit make this bottle immediately approachable and friendly and the price makes this perfect for any occasion.
Price: $13.99 Add To Cart

2016 Bodegas Chacra "Sin Azufre" Pinot Noir Rio Negro
Review Date: 06-26-2017
As I tried this wine Joe told me that the name meant that it was without sulfites. That is cool but I was worried that if that was the big selling point for them the wine may not really speak for itself. Thankfully I was completely wrong, instead I was delighted to try a Pinot that hits a beautiful spot for me. On a lighter an more delicate side of Pinot, which is where I love this grape to be, this wine was not at all weak or watery. Rather it shows red berry, floral, a little spice note opting for balance over brawn. This is precisely the kind of wine that I love, long, elegant, and perfectly in my particular price range.
Price: $34.99 Add To Cart
JS 97 RP 92

Wild Turkey "Master's Keep - Decades" Kentucky Straight Bourbon Whiskey (750ml)
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Finding both rare and extremely good bourbon that can be a gift (for you or if necessary someone else) has become a difficult task. Good, aged bourbon is increasingly scarce in the market, and while I love just good everyday bourbon sometimes you need that bottle that will catch the eye and the imagination. Enter the Wild Turkey Decades, the new expression from Master's Keep collection. Essentially this is a blend of carefully selected barrels of older Wild Turkey, the nose is warm, sweet and inviting with vanilla and candy corn notes. The palate shows a soft richness with rising heat and spice from the 104 proof. This bottle showcase the depth and breadth of Wild Turkey that few other places can boast, a supple smoothness that speaks to craft.
Price: $129.99 Add To Cart
WA 94

2015 Domaine Pernot-Belicard Bourgogne Blanc
Review Date: 06-15-2017
Our long standing relationship with Paul Pernod led us to the Pernot Belicard wines in our quest to continually bring in Burgundy that is affordable and ready to drink, The entry level Bourgogne Blanc from Pernot Belicard shows a rich, softly inviting nose with tropical fruit notes. Due to the low acid vintage of 2015 this wine is more open and generous with the fruit, less acid driven and fruitier.
Price: $19.99 Add To Cart

2015 Domaine Jean-Michel Giboulot Hautes-Côtes de Beaune
Review Date: 06-15-2017
A delightful bottle for those looking for a little more richness in their Burgundy while still being a wine from this area. The Hautes-Cotes de Beaune features a clean nose with perfectly ripe raspberry and hints of cherry. There is a lovely amount of fruit in the wine and very soft tannins that coat the palate on the finish. The acid here really is to balance the wine, not to drive it. A soft, easy to like Pinot for those dipping their toes into Burgundy.
Price: $21.99 Add To Cart

Page: 1 2 3 next